SPE: News executive board members

On 17 June 2020 the Society of Plastics Engineers SPE has announced recently elected Executive Board members as well as a newly appointed President.

SPE’s newly elected Executive Board Members (f.l.t.r.): Dr. Jaime Gómez, Dr. Jason Lyons, Edward Trueman, and Conor Carlin (Source: SPE)

Dr. Jaime A. Gómez, President & CEO at Equitech, will assume the position of SPE President starting on 1 July 2020. The president’s term will run from 2020 to 2021. Dr. Jason Lyons, Business Manager at Arkema, will serve as SPE’s President-Elect until 2021, when he will start his term as president through 2022. Other new board members beginning their terms on 1 July 2020 include Edward Trueman, who will serve as VP Business & Finance and Conor Carlin, who will serve as VP Sustainability, both three-year positions that run through 2023.

As of 1 July 2020, SPE’s current Executive Board Members are:

  • Jaime Gómez, President
  • Patrick Farrey, Chief Executive Officer
  • Jason Lyons, President-Elect
  • Conor Carlin, VP Sustainability
  • Edward Trueman, VP Business & Finance
  • Scott Eastman, VP Chapters
  • Bruce Mulholland, VP Professional Development
  • Lynzie Nebel, VP Member Engagement
  • Raymond Pearson, VP Publications
  • Brian Landes, Past President

Introduction of the new Executiv Board Members:

Dr. Jaime Gómez – President
Jaime Gómez has 30-years of industry experience and is currently President & CEO of Equitech. Gómez joined SPE in 1987 while pursuing his Ph.D. at the University of Connecticut. While there, he served as SPE’s Student Chapter President for two terms. He also served as a member of SPE’s Extrusion Division Board of Directors for six years and helped establish the Next Generation Advisory Board (NGAB). Gómez has been a member of SPE’s Board of Directors since 2013 and has served as SPE’s Secretary, Treasurer, VP Marketing & Communications, VP Events, and President-Elect. Dr. Gómez received SPE’s President’s Cup in 2014 and the Excellence in Mentoring Award in 2017. He also invented and produced The Plastics Race, an event that promotes networking and knowledge exchange between SPE members. Gómez was named President of SPE for the 2020-2021 term.

Dr. Jason Lyons – President-Elect
Jason Lyons is currently Business Manager for Arkema, Inc. He has been with Arkema since 2006. Prior to joining Arkema, Lyons was Research Engineer for NovaComp, Inc. where he successfully managed all aspects of a Phase I & II SBIR grant with the Army Research Labs while writing and applying for additional federal grants. From 2010-2018, Lyons sat on the SPE Engineering Properties & Structure Division (EPSDIV) Board of Directors. During that time, he introduced the EPSDIV Seminar Series, was an EPSDIV Technical Program Chair (TPC) in 2010 and 2017 and was EPSDIV Chair in 2014. He has been on the SPE Additive Manufacturing & 3D Printing Special Interest Group Board of Directors since 2016 and has been an ANTEC moderator since 2010. Lyons has been on the SPE Executive Board as VP Divisions since 2016.

Edward Trueman – VP Business & Finance
Edward Trueman, CEO/President of Edward Trueman, LLC, has a deep history in company development, organizational and revenue growth. He has broad executive leadership experience on an international scale with experience in the US, Canada, Malaysia, Philippines and India. Trueman is an active member of the SPE Detroit Chapter and has a Bachelor of Science degree in Economics from Eastern Michigan University.

Conor Carlin – VP Sustainability
Conor Carlin is currently Managing Director at Illig LP North America. He is a skilled manager with over 15-years of global experience in business strategy, technology commercialization, marketing, and sales management. Carlin has international expertise in negotiations, contract development, and sales growth for capital equipment and plastic materials. Carlin’s involvement in SPE includes positions as Membership Chair, Technical Chair and Magazine Editor for the Thermoforming Division (2006 – present) and is currently Board Member/Secretary for the SPE Recycling Division (since 2017). Other SPE roles include his position as Board Member and Secretary for the SPE Foundation (2015-2017). Carlin has been on the SPE Executive Board since 2017 as VP Marketing & Communications.